Posted by Duff

Binky at 24/7 challenged me write to a memoir in six words. 

I want to live up to her expectations of me. Because not only is she a lovely, spot-on writer, but she also has a daughter exactly one year older than mine, and sometimes I daydream about shadowing her seemingly serene experience of motherhood. She might not know this, but recently I keep coming back to her congratulatory message following The Dervish’s birth, a hopeful commentary on a shared day:

If she’s anything like (The Boss) you’re in for a treat.

It became apparent pretty quickly that I was definitely in for something.

I’m hoping that Binky’s tendency to make it look effortless will rub off on me.

Things that rub off on me currently:

  • Grease from the hinge of my car door
  • The ashes of work burnout
  • A Tetris addiction
  • The Dervish’s insomnia
  • My husband’s frustration with The Dervish’s insomnia

I’ll keep emulating her, though, and maybe one day, I’ll get there.

So here goes:

She ate too many raw onions.

No, seriously:

Fuse? Short. Loyalty? Fierce. Outcome? Pending.

How about you? Crista, Erin, Jdub? Other much appreciated, regular readers who rarely comment? (Psst. I see you, I want to hear what you have to say).

1. Write a six-word memoir.
2. Post it to your blog, maybe with a pic.
3. Link to the person who tagged you
4. Tag a few folks
5. Leave a comment for them with an invite to play.

As The Dervish would say”…GO!”

