Posted by Fitz

Most moms get nervous when their babies turn into toddlers for safety reasons, or because they have an innate sense that they will never again get to sit down for more than three minutes at a time.  Sure, these things have crossed my mind, but none give me a pit in my stomach than this:

I am afraid I won’t be able to understand The Bean when she starts talking.

Toddlers love to talk to me.  Whether they are my friends’ kids or some cute little munchkins in the library play room, they run right over on their cute little legs and tell me elaborate stories about their toys and their day.  I never understand them.  I can pick out a few words here and there, but hardly enough to even get the gist of what they are talking about.  With an encouraging look and a big smile, I always say “Yes!” and “Oh really?” with the enthusiasm of a cheerleader at a pep rally….but nonetheless, they always see through me.  They know that I don’t get it, and turn away with a look that I strongly suspect is disgust.

Oh well.

I am trying to tell myself that it will be different when my bean starts talking, because she’s mine and of course I’ll understand her.  But in my heart of hearts, I don’t think so.  There’s just something about garbled, high-pitch words that go over my head in the same way that my advanced French literature class did. 

I hope I can understand enough so she doesn’t think that talking to me is a total waste of time, because I’m really interested in what goes on in that head of hers.  I guess, like so much of motherhood, we’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

Photo credit: www.pbs.org

