Posted by Fitz

Ah, the relief of a night out on the town with your husband after a long, exhausting week.

Oh, the horrors of the next morning…when, sensing that you had a little fun last night, your baby wakes up an hour and a half earlier than normal.

My husband and I had a fabulous evening last night to celebrate our annivesary.  We tried out the hip new Fairfield restaurant 55 Degrees (pretty good!), and enjoyed not only a glass of champagne, but a great bottle of red, too.   I knew it wasn’t a good idea to indulge in the wine and rich food, but it was our anniversary.  I thought that maybe, just maybe, that the forecasted rain would keep The Bean in bed a little earlier.  That she’d know how much we needed that date, and needed to feel like our old selves again, and give us a break.  So I bet against the house, had my wine, and guess what….the rain woke her up at 5:30 and she didn’t really care so much about the necessity of that date.

Oh well.

So, ladies, here I am…still in PJs, nursing a second cup of coffee and hoping that the Advil kicks in soon…wondering what we’ll do with the long day that stretches ahead of us.  It’s a good reminder that, no matter how long you can escape the duties of parenthood, your kid is always there to remind you that she’s number one in this house.  And despite the slight hangover and urge to go back to bed, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

