Posted by Fitz

I’m sure that, by now, you’re all sick to death of my stories about transitioning back to the workforce after a year of maternity leave.  You know that I work part time, you know that I like it, yadda yadda yadda.  Here are two things, though, that I could use your help with.  These are the two things that have been bothering me the most about my newly-reinstated career, and I need some advice from women who have gone through something similar.  Here they are:

  • First, I’m having a hard time keeping up with my friends.  Last year, I was part of a pretty tight knit group that did something together nearly every day – playdates, the library, lunch, all of it.  Now that I’m working (and I’m the only one of these moms who works outside of the home), I’m having a hard time keeping up.  I miss my friends, but I can’t always meet up on my days off anymore – I have a week’s worth of errands and housework to cram in.  When we do meet up, I feel a little out of the loop because I’m not with them more often…and I wonder if they think I am purposely blowing them off.  I need to let them know that transitioning between my mom role and my working role is hard for me, and has sometimes been confusing – but that they are still an incredibly important part of my life.  If you’re in a similar situation, how do you balance it all?
  • Second, I’m struggling at work to balance part time hours with a full time ambition.  While I made the conscious choice to work three days a week, my drive to succeed would prefer me to work five.  I am having a hard time stepping back from exciting projects, saying no to interesting meetings, and looking at my job as…well, a job.  My career has always been of critical importance to me – it’s a part of me, and that’s why I’m happy to be working again.  Of more importance, though, is The Bean – and she is the reason why I’m not willing to dive into my responsibilities head first, with a mind towards the next rung on the career ladder.  How do you balance your ambition with your home life?  Is there even such a thing?

So, you readers usually come here for some advice and perhaps a laugh or two: today, I’m turning the tables and asking you for the advice.  How do you balance being a professional and being a mom?  How do you fit all of the pieces of life’s puzzle in the mere 24 hours we have in a day?  I’d love any tricks, tidbits, or techniques that you’ve picked up along the way.  Balancing the equation of my new life has been a little trickier than I imagined.

