Posted by Duff

I wanted to share this tidbit with parents who have children under 2 1/2 or those contemplating having children, so they can re-budget their holiday gift-giving fund to buy diapers or shoes for ever-growing feet. Or at least stretch the celebration over a couple of weeks for maximum effect.

The Dervish got more gifts during the Christmas season than she has probably recieved in total, prior.

Though we only got her 3 gifts to open at our house, it took all day. The packaging from the first kept her busy for the morning. She refused her stocking until just before bed.

When we went to the whole-family holiday celebration, the first gift had her at hello and I had to open the rest so we could thank the givers in person before leaving.

Maybe The Dervish is different, and I guess that’s possible, but I think it’s no coincidence that people say kids are psyched about wrapping paper, boxes and twinkly lights, and holiday hoopla is a whole lot of too much excitement.

This might have something to do with why The Dervish was awake from 3:00-5:00 am after all of this happened. I’m kind of glad I didn’t get into Santa with her this year, since she was so overwhelmed by her own relatives that she didn’t want me to leave the room, presents or not. I could see her being way-skeptical of a stranger coming into her house while she slept, to the tune of a window-shattering night terror.

She wasn’t into her 2nd birthday, but soon after became obsessed with all things birthday, so I know her 3rd will be one of the best days of her life thus far. Because of this, I am hopeful we can get in at least 4 good pro-Santa holiday seasons.

A couple of days after everything has calmed down, The Dervish is now ready to really enjoy a talking tea set and has asked for more presents. Specifically, a camera, please. But on Christmas day, a sleeve of Ritz crackers had her knee-deep in utopia.

I didn’t even have to stand in line at 4:00am on Black Friday.

