Posted by Fitz

It’s happening again.

When it happened last year, I thought it was because I had a little baby that didn’t sleep through the night and had an awful case of reflux.   I am worried that it’s happening again now, and that I feel powerless to stop the train in its tracks.   I am feeling cranky, and restless, and impatient, and am constantly daydreaming about being on an island with a cocktail.

I have the winter doldrums.

I’m not sure what it is about being a mother that emphasizes these feelings, but for me, mid-January seems to bring on an extreme desire to crawl out of my own skin.  I have a toddler who would like to be anywhere but at home, yet it’s too cold/snowy/inconvenient to take her out.  I have started a rigorous New Year’s Resolution weight loss program, but I feel crappy about myself.  I plan summer getaways, but they seem like they will never get here.  It’s a strange cycle that is tough to break out of without some help.

Since it’s not in our budget this year to go to Sandy Lane, here are some things that I’m trying.  I’m hoping that, by sharing my ideas, you’ll share your own and we’ll collectively will Spring to come sooner, like, immediately.

  • Get out of the house – alone.   I went out for a glass of wine and some Spicy Mango Chicken with my sister-in-law tonight, and I already feel better.  Like a human who can socialize.
  • Use Nars Orgasm blush.  To get that glowy, fresh look without having to take off your pants.
  • Plan a getaway, no matter how short or unexotic.  My husband and I are planning a trip to Boston to celebrate our birthdays with some free hotel points we’ve earned.  We’re optimistic that one night will give us our groove back…or at least a solid 8 hours of sleep.
  • Research new things to do.  I’m bringing the Bean to a free trial class at My Gym, we’re trying out Playtime Village for the first time, and we might even hit up the local museum.  At least we’ll be out of the house!
  • Try some self-tanner.  You don’t want to look like you could be on Dancing With the Stars, but a bit of the stuff mixed in with your daily moisturizer could bring you back from the dead.  Figuratively, of course.

This time of year is not fun for anyone (unless your a fan of whoever is in the Superbowl).  Try something new to break through the doldrums, and let us know if it works for you.  Let’s share all of our ideas so the next two months of winter don’t seem so bleak.

