Posted by Fitz

Mothers are talking.  Honestly.  To large groups of people. 

The media lately has been filled with stories of “real moms” who are “confessing” their true feelings about motherhood.  Just last week, Oprah did it.  New books are being published at the speed of light.  Yesterday, the Today Show even featured a wildly popular YouTube video that shows moms everywhere admitting some of the things they have done in their quest to be successful mothers.

I think you should watch it.  Now.

I have to admit, some of these confessions really surprised me, but I’m trying not to judge.  A common theme in this blog is that women everywhere are challenged, enlightened, and frustrated by motherhood, and that we have to let each woman find her own way and her own definition of success.  I guess that any sort of judgment relating to these confessions (or any others you might see or read) comes from a place of insecurity: “Well, at least I don’t do THAT.”  The more I think about it, though, the more I’ve come to realize that we all have our “that“, and we might not be proud of it, but it gets us through some pretty tough days.  As long as our kids are safe, healthy, and happy, it’s okay.  Or at least that is what we tell ourselves.

