Posted by Fitz

If your little one is anything like my Bean(pole), it’s not always easy finding clothes that fit well.  We search high and low to find pants with a long inseam, but typically Beanie is walking around like a little plumber, with her onesie or diaper peeking out above a waistband that is just big enough to slide down her tiny little hips.

I’ve tried grosgrain ribbon belts (and will shamelessly admit that they have usually entered our lives via a pair of preppy pants or shorts), but they are too slippery-slidey and always end up….off, somehow.  Imagine my delight, then, when I stumbled upon the Myself Belt when buying some cool daycare labels.

This belt is many things: it’s cute, functional, thick enough to hold up the pants, and gives kids the opportunity to open and close the belt themselves via velcro.  The Bean loves fastening hers, and smiles with a glimmer of pride when she completes the task.  They are easier than a standard belt, too, when it comes to diaper changes and general undressing. 

There are a couple of things I would change about the belt, however, if I was queen for the day.  First, despite the true sizing (XS to XL, with measurements given on the website), I’d like a little more velcro on the closure side to make the belt  more adjustable.  Second, I would like the belt to have a secret button that I could push when The Bean gets a little too involved in her self-belting: sometimes, we have things to do and need to get a move on.

Despite these minor drawbacks, I’d recommend giving this belt a try.  It comes in a variety of colors and patterns for girls and boys, and sells for $14.99  It’s a small price to pay to keep your kid’s pants up for the whole day.

