Posted by Fitz

If there was ever a doubt that The Bean would end up being a girly girl, it has surely been eradicated.  

I first noticed her interest in clothes a few months ago, when she got particularly excited about a new dress that I put on her.  She flounced about her room, lifting the hem up to admire the “fow wows” (flowers) that were scattered all over the dress.  She whispered the word “pity” (pretty) three times, then turned and gave me her thousand-watt smile.  It was absolutely adorable, and frankly, the type of moment I had been waiting for without even knowing it.  This little event showed me that The Bean really is my girl…and that satisfied some part of me that I didn’t know had been unsatisfied to date.

Fast forward to the past few weeks, and the satisfaction is slowly morphing into a state of alarm.   The Bean won’t walk around the house without a pair of shoes on her feet.  Now, this would be absolutely normal and encouraged…if said shoes were the sturdy, overenthusiastically designed Stride Rites that we shell out the big bucks for, but oh no.  The Bean is only content if she’s walking around the house in Mommy’s shoes – the higher the heel and the more expensive the shoe, the more content she is.  I never thought I’d be the mom who said, “Beanie!  Put down that leopard print peep toe RIGHT NOW!”

It’s a riot seeing a teeny tiny girl shuffling around the house in my size 8 1/2 black patent ballet flats, my Ugg slippers, or my new sneakers.  It’s absolutely terrifying to see her slide her little foot into a pair of work pumps that I know will break her ankle if she falls just the right way.  So, all of Mommy’s shoes have been relocated to the highest shelf in my closet, only to be retrieved by my husband who doesn’t understand the need for so many pairs of shoes in the first place.  The Bean is not happy with this new arrangement – cries of “NO!  WHY?” have been a constant in our house – but she has been temporarily placated by a new pair of sandals – in her size, thank goodness.

All of this fashionista behavior is a little unnerving coming from an almost-nineteen month old, but what did I really expect?  When you spend far too much of your adolescence (and babysitting money) campaigning for Bass weejuns, Benetton rugbies and Guess jeans with zippers on the ankles, you’ve gotta be prepared for your little girl to have the same passion for fashion.

