Posted by Fitz

My new In Style magazine came the other day, and Rebecca Romijn graced the cover looking as phenomenally gorgeous as ever.  In the spread, she talks about life with her new twin girls, Dolly and Charlie, and says all of the things that new mothers say when they are talking about their babies (“I now know the meaning of life”, “I fell instantly in love”, etc, etc).  The article also has a substantial photo spread of her with her girls, who are chubby little examples of perfection.  I think I’m in love with them, too.

What I love about this article is that Rebecca (if I can be so familiar as to call her that) seems like a pretty real person.  She doesn’t complain about how hard it is to get back in to shape like Jessica Alba did, nor does she apologize for her unusual name choices (Dolly after Dolly Parton, her idol; Charlie after her husband’s brother, who was on The Bachelor).  What cracked me up about the article is how easily she said (and I’m paraphrasing), “I’m a jeans size up from where I used to be, and that’s okay.” 

Now, I know she’s not complaining.  That’s a good thing.  However, when you are a model, what is your pre-pregnancy jeans size?  A 4, if you’re considered “curvy”?  So maybe she’s a 6 now?  Yeah, I’d be fine with that, too.  Especially if I was as utterly, breathtakingly gorgeous as she is.   In my old Jessica Alba post, a commenter said that I sounded jealous: hell yes!  I would love to look like Rebecca Romijn and have her post pregnancy body any day of the week: she seems healthy, strong, and realistic.  I love that she tried to send the message that it’s okay to not be your exact size three months after having twins (and I hope to GOD that no one thinks they should be!), but let’s be realistic here.  She is a model, an actress, and has every resource available to her to keep her looking fantastic.  So keep the positive body image messages coming, Rebecca, and let’s me say one more thing: thank you for not asking us to feel sorry for you!

