Posted by AVM

I know the sex of my unborn baby and nobody (well, almost nobody) knows but me.  It started out simply enough.  My husband and I decided that we wanted the sex of our first child to be a surprise.  And so it was.  Our preparation included creating a neutral nursery, stocking the drawers with green and yellow clothes, and being sure to register for carseats, swings, high chairs, bouncy seats, etc that were not gender specific.  In the delivery room (or in my case, the operating room), the joy and emotion of hearing, “It’s a girl!” tops nearly every other experience I’ve ever had in my life.

This time around, I wanted to know the sex of the baby, but my husband wanted that delicious delivery room moment again.  I argued my points (“With a toddler, we have less prep time!  Let’s just find out so we’re READY one way or the other.”), and he argued his (“There are so few great surprises in life – let’s enjoy this last one!”), and it seemed we were at a crossroads.  So in the end and after much grief from both parties, I found out the sex of our baby, and he is still in the dark.  At first it was difficult to keep the secret – I was afraid of slipping a “he” or “she” into the conversation – but it never happened.  And I decided that since my husband didn’t want to know, that no one else should know.  So the secret is mine.  Aside from the random grocery store cashier who I’m sure doesn’t really care, and whose anonymity guarantees that it won’t get back to anyone I know, the secret resides with me.

It’s kind of nice, actually.  I share this one secret with my baby.  It’s me and the little one against the world!  But in reality, I am jealous that my husband is going to have that moment again, and I won’t be able to share it with him.  The thing is, I can’t UNknow.   Once the fact is part of your consciousness, that’s it.  It’s there for good.  If I had it to do over again, and if my patience was better in tact, I would go with the surprise. Having done it both ways, I can tell you the surprise in the delivery room rivals a marriage proposal, your “I do’s”, a death row pardon, winning the lottery – yes, it’s THAT big.  However, for me,  in 5 weeks, the secret will be out.  And, I can’t wait.

