Posted by Fitz

Dear Mr. or Ms. Postman (including USPS, UPS, and FedEx),

I would greatly appreciate it if you could please refrain from ringing my doorbell when you’re dropping off a package in the middle of the afternoon.  If I don’t need to sign for said package, why do I need an immediate alert that it has arrived?  Believe me, I’m watching like a hawk for an important delivery, and a single (loud) “DING DONG!” isn’t going to make a difference.

I feel strongly about this, Mr. or Ms. Postman, because you don’t know the havoc you wreak when my bell is rung during naptime.  The baby awakes without fail, she screams like someone is pulling her fingernails out, and it is very, very rare when she’ll actually go back to sleep.  This disrupts her precious sleep and my precious alone time, and makes us both miserable cranky-pants ladies by the time that Daddy gets home.

Mr. or Ms. Postman, I beg of you: please stop ringing the doorbell.  I fear that I will become one of those houses with the old lady “don’t ring the doorbell”, “no loitering”, or “no chinese menus!” signs scrawled on ripped, lined paper and taped to the screen door.  But I’m one step away, because an interrupted nap makes for an unpleasant afternoon.

Thank you for your kindness and consideration, Mr. or Ms. Postman.  I appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Fitzy

