Posted by AVM

In honor of my Lovey’s 3rd birthday today, I wanted to share an experience my husband and I had last week at the parents’ night at Lovey’s daycare.  The evening was organized so that after an address to all the parents, everyone went to their child’s respective classroom for a presentation by their teachers.  My husband and I sat down in the miniature chairs and had friendly chatter with the other parents.   The teachers began their presentation all about the songs they sing, the books they read, movement class, Spanish class, music class, what they do, why they do it, and what they learn from it.  It was a fact-finding mission for me, actually.  I have been hearing Lovey sing songs and make references to things I know were happening at school, and I couldn’t wait to make sense of them.  The teachers did not disappoint; they are wonderful, and I am grateful to co-parent my daughter with them.  I always have been, and I have found it to be one more benefit of being a working mother.

Lovey’s teachers concluded their presentation with a digital slideshow of photographs of Lovey and her classmates.  They were snapshots set to music of their year so far – on the playground, in morning meeting, napping, you name it.  The parents “ooh”-ed and “ahh”-ed, and we were getting a glimpse into who our children are when we’re not with them.  My husband and I saw Lovey in a different light.  This is who she is when she’s out in the world.  Here, she’s not holding our hands, and she’s not being guided by our direction.  She’s smiling, sharing, climbing, running, creating. . . she shines.  Now, I’m sure the photos of squabbles and tears were omitted, I’m not clueless enough to think that they don’t exist. . . .I can provide plenty of my own.  But we appreciated this look into her life.  It made us so proud.  It gave us confidence that maybe we’re on the right track here.  We’re doing well so far . . .and that’s a relief.  With three years (officially, today) under our parenting belts, I’m happy to report that my daughter is a little girl whom I – and others –  love to spend time with, and will be a woman I can’t wait to know.

Happy birthday, Lovey.  Today, you held up your little fingers and said, “I’m THREE today, Mommy!”   Yes, sweetheart, and I can barely believe it.  I love you with all of my heart, and I love the person you’re becoming.  It is an honor to be your mother.

Our Girl

Our Girl

