Posted by AVM

After what seems like a blink of an eye, my maternity leave is over, and I start back at work in the morning.  Twelve weeks have come and gone so fast; it seemed like an eternity stretched out before me the day I gave birth to CeeCee.  I am blessed to love my job and love the people I work with even more.  I am not dreading my return to work at all. Unlike my first time returning to work after maternity leave, I am not worried that my daughter won’t remember me, or that she’s not going to do well in daycare.  I already know that aspect of my return to work is all going to pan out.   Mostly, as a self-proclaimed creature of habit, it’s the logistics that are causing me high anxiety.  I feel like I just got into the swing of things, and now I need a new routine.  As with everything related to being a parent, once you’re in a groove, it changes up.  Forced adaptation.  Get on the train or get out of the way.  My husband and I  have two children  and ourselves to get ready, fed, dressed and out the door by 7:30AM.  It’s ambitious to say the least, but I have no doubt it’s going to happen.  Something’s got to give.  I’ve got long, curly hair that takes 15-20 minutes to dry.  That’s not happening unless I wake up at 4:30 (also not happening).  But, I am no different than anyone else.  I am the same as every mom reading this.  Your mornings are just as – or more so – hectic as mine will be.  I know it just takes planning.  I just fear the unknown.  It gives me a stomach ache.  I wish I knew the order of events tomorrow morning.  But that’s parenthood, isn’t it? The unknown.  I’m exhausted thinking about it.  Thankfully, it’s a short week, and we can ease into the madness.

The routine will come – I know it will.  And it will be just in time for CeeCee to start rice cereal, and then I’ll have to change it up again.   And then she’ll be crawling, and I’ll have to contain her in the morning.  And then, and then, and then. .  .change, change, change. . . . until the heavens  open up, a choir of harp-bearing angels sing “Hallelujah,” and lo and behold, my girls will be old enough to get themselves ready for school.  At that point, NO DOUBT, I will be wishing they were the tiny snuggly creatures they are right now.  I guess I need to be in the moment and remember that – especially with Thanksgiving coming and all.  Ok, work week. Bring it on.

