Posted by AVM

I’ll keep this brief, so that we can get to our next giveaway, but I had a few thoughts from this past week – my first full week back at work after maternity leave – that I’d love to share, and here they are:

1. If you ever have the opportunity to be the “mystery reader” for your child’s class, jump on it.  The look on Lovey’s face when I walked in with one of her favorite books was priceless. Very cool.

2. Take advantage of the early years when kids don’t really ask for much for the holidays.  Lovey told me that she wants Santa to bring her a panda and a ball.  Unless she’s talking about a real panda from China, these are the two simplest requests around.  So why am I busting my butt to find the best, hottest toys for 3-year-olds?  Lesson learned.

3. CeeCee rocks.  She’s smiley, easy-going, and she sleeps.  Anyone that tells you that you “lucked out” with your first child and so you’re doomed to have a devil spawn infant the second time around doesn’t know what they’re talking about.  It is possible to hit the lottery twice.

4. The time has come. My “newborn” is 3 months old.  Time to lose the baby weight – and the weight I needed to lose BEFORE the baby.  The excuses are over.  Time to get serious.  New year, new me, and I need you guys to keep me honest.  More on this at a later date.

5. After watching the maiden episode of MTV’s The Jersey Shore, I realize that I really don’t want my daughters to grow up.  Man, it’s scary out there. . . and really cheesy.

The Mom Genes Month of Giveaways continues!

Apricot & Ivy is generously giving away this fabulous play Rocket Ship, guaranteed to be your toddler’s favorite gift this year!  Let your little ones’ imaginations blast off as they decorate this sturdy rocket ship to their hearts’ desire.  To win it, finish this thought:  “My Mom Genes is a great blog, but I wish it _______.”

Official Contest Rules

1. This contest is open to anyone who would like to participate.

2.  Selecting the winner is at the sole discretion of the My Mom Genes bloggers.

3.  Entries will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, December 10, 2009.

4.  The winner will be notified via email and announced on My Mom Genes.

5.  With notification, the winner will have the option to choose EITHER this Rocket Ship OR this Playhouse from Apricot & Ivy as your prize.

6.  Item will ship directly from Apricot & Ivy based on the vendor’s delivery terms.

Good luck!

