Posted by Fitz

That’s it, ladies, I’m officially in a post-holiday slump.  We’re back to work, back in a routine, and I’m as cranky as a two-year old at the end of a no-nap day.  What is it about the first week of January that does this to me?  Hmm, maybe it’s the:

-Little girl who is still hepped up on holiday cookies and sweets, and refuses to get back into the broccoli and whole grain swing of things

-Same little girl who had two days off from daycare and now acts like it’s a mortal sin to bring her back

-Husband who is just as busy at work as me, leading us both to sheer exhaustion and bouts of end-of-day moodiness

-Body that won’t allow me to stay up past 8:30 p.m., but magically awakes at 2:00 a.m. demanding a bowl of multigrain Cheerios (apparently, going to bed early is very hard work)

-Constant demands of colleagues and clients who you couldn’t pay to call you back in December, but now need you “urgently”

-Weather that practically laughs at you if you dare escape the warm confines of your house for five minutes

Am I the only one who feels this way?  I’m tired, ladies, and I’m not allowed the normal amount of caffeine it would take to climb up this particular mountain.  Here’s to hoping for a restorative weekend and a lighter burden next week!

