Posted by Fitz

Sweet Pea, at 12 weeks

I want to thank you all so much for all of your congratulations and well-wishes on my pregnancy!  Everything continues to go very, very well (knock on wood), and I’m thrilled to report that I’m officially 20 weeks and halfway done.  It has been an easy pregnancy so far aside from my usual nerves and exhaustion, and I’m incredibly grateful for the opportunity to be someone else’s mom.  I hope this new person is also grateful that they chose me, but that’s a topic for another post.

I’ve gotten a lot of really interesting comments since I’ve announced my pregnancy to friends and family, most of which center around how this actually happened.  Many well-meaning, loving people have said, “See, you worked so hard the first time, and the second time it just happened!  That’s how it works!”  Others have said, “As soon as you stop thinking about getting pregnant, it happens!”  And my personal favorite, “You’re so relaxed now that you have The Bean, it’s no wonder that you got pregnant so easily!”

The people who have said these things to me are some of my favorite people in the world, and I’m glad that I’m past the point of getting really ticked off about comments of this nature.  But the fact of the matter is, we had to do IVF (specifically, a frozen embryo transfer) again to get pregnant after close to a year of trying on our own and doing a failed intrauterine inseminiation (IUI).  The only thing that was easy about this process is that our doctors knew the formula that would work best for my body and let us dictate when and how we wanted to get aggressive.  We knew that trying on our own would be close to futile, and we knew that the IUI had only slightly better chances – but we figured it was worth a shot.  When we finally got down to business and decided that Beanie needed a sibling sooner rather than later, we brought out the big guns and fired up the IVF machine again.  Presto chango, we lucked out again and it worked on our first try.  How lucky are we?

I am writing this post to try and clarify the notion that most women only need to do fertility treatments once, then their body magically kicks in and miracles happen.  I’m thrilled to know several women who have been lucky enough for this to happen, and I wish that we were in that category.  But we weren’t, and that’s okay.  We are more than blessed to have had an easy treatment experience and so far, an easy pregnancy.    After all, who cares how the baby is conceived, as long as it’s out of love?

