Posted by AVM

I know the three of us moms who blog here at My Mom Genes have had numerous recent posts about the trials and tribulations of potty training.  Here’s another one for you.  I hope the fact that we’re all going through it means that you all can relate too, and it’s a common source of anxiety for most of us moms.  And for those of you who had the easy potty training experience with your child, I hate you (Just – sort of – kidding).

Lovey has been potty trained for months to pee on the potty.  She wears panties during the day, she (close to) never has accidents.  For all other functions, she waits until I put a pull-up on her after the bath to go.  I have tried all the tricks we all try.  Bribery, promises of the best toys and far away lands to visit. . .if. . .only. . .you will just poop where you’re supposed to poop.  Nothing.  On Monday, in a bizarre turn of events – it happened!  I brought out the big brass band to celebrate!  We called Daddy, we called Mema (her grandmother), we phoned the newspapers.  Everyone was excited.  And so, clearly, I thought we turned a corner.  I thought we were done.  Nope.  She held it for the next 5 days.  Saturday evening is a night of which I am neither proud, nor do I ever want to relive.  I am sufficiently traumatized to the point that I will not be asking her about wanting to use the potty for those purposes again until she’s 20 years old.  She wins.  Checkmate.

New Year’s Resolution Update: As of this morning, three weeks in, I am officially down a total of 13.5 pounds!  Thanks for keeping me honest, people!

