Posted by AVM

I feel like I yell a lot.  More than most moms?  I don’t know.  But it feels like a lot.  Nine times out of ten, it’s all my fault.  I’m one of the following: tired, frazzled from work, being pulled in 100 directions, trying to get through my to-do list, or tired (did I say tired already?).  This affects Lovey, mostly, because she’s just being three-and-a-half, and while her antics make me insane sometimes, she’s just doing what she’s supposed to be doing.   I’m trying not to be too hard on myself, especially when I read something like this (which I wish I had written). 

I counterbalance this guilt by going out of my way to make the little things extra-special for Lovey.  Birthdays are a big deal.  The pillow that I know she loves the most is what is on her side of the bed when I turn the bed down at night.  I am sure to sing her favorite song with gusto when she’s in the bathtub even though I’m sick to death of it.  And I take special pride when I make her school lunches – the strawberries cut the way she loves them, her favorite shaped pasta, or I include the precious crackers that I have to drive ten miles out of the way to buy.  God is in the details, right?  I hope it reminds her that her sometimes crazy mother really loves her a lot. 

Well, I kicked it up a notch.  Lovey was home from school for a week’s break, and I decided to make her bento box lunches to have while the babysitter was watching her.  I have been so enjoying crafting these miniature masterpieces for Lovey, knowing she appreciates the special time I took to do it.   And I find it therapeutic to cut miniature flowers out of red peppers, or hearts from cucumbers.  I know, I know.  Most of you reading this are thinking Must be nice to have that kind of time. I don’t have that kind of time, I just don’t go to sleep until 1 AM and I wake up at 5 AM.  And I have a new crazy obsession with this bento box madness. So I think I might continue with it.  We’ll see.  I found a few websites that have lots of cute bento accessories, and I’ve made some purchases.  The results have been great.  My picky/disinterested eater, finishes about 90% of lunch when it’s in the form of a bento.  And the best part?  Lovey said, “Mommy?  You made a very special lunch JUST for me!  That was very nice!  You’re the best mommy!”  And that’s an exact quote.  Yes, yes, I think I’ll continue. 

Let me know if you’d like to give bentos a try! I can point you in the right direction with a list of websites for supplies and inspiration!

Updates
CeeCee’s accident: Thank you all for your kind words and thoughts about CeeCee.  She is doing GREAT.  The laceration under her eye is healing incredibly – I am astonished that after only a week, it’s barely visible.  If you’d seen the “before” picture, you’d be astonished too.  The follow-up doctors’ visits have all been positive.  She’s good as new.  Thank you for making me feel like maybe I’m not the worst mom in the world.  You sure know how to make a girl feel better for making a scary mistake. 

New Year’s Resolution:  I’m officially down 24 pounds!  I’m going to keep on keepin’ on!  Thanks for the encouragement!

