Posted by AVM

If you live in certain parts of the North East, you experienced a terrible rain and wind storm last weekend.  The storm downed hundreds of trees in this corner of the world where I live.  Huge majestic pines, great oaks, and the like – trees that were standing for a hundred years or more enduring season after season for decades – came down during this storm and did a lot of damage around here.  Luckily, our home was not affected by falling trees or by the massive rains, however we lost power for a good clip.  The electricity to our entire area was knocked out, and actually, my office was closed for most of the week because of it.

Since the storm ended, the weather has been glorious.  And it leads me to believe that March is living up to its “in like a lion, out like a lamb” reputation.  Spring has sprung here, and all I can do is look forward to the abundance of barbecuing and warm weather activities that wait for us in the coming months.  There is nothing like 70+ degree weather and sunshine to lift your mood and make you really appreciate what a gift it is to be alive.  This weekend made my heart full – it was a family weekend – and we had a blast.

The girls spent the bulk of the weekend outdoors.  Lovey especially loved it.  Bubbles and the bounce house, tricycle riding and swings – she would sleep out there if I let her.  Both of my girls are at great ages.  At three-and-a-half, Lovey is independent and smart, her thinking is getting more complex and it’s amazing to watch.  And our little CeeCee is at my favorite baby age.  She’s six-and-a-half months old and just full of personality and smiles.  CeeCee’s sturdier now, and she’s totally engaged.  Sitting up, playing with toys, whatever you’re holding, she wants.  It’s a great age, a delicious age – when all you want to do is kiss her cheeks forever while she laughs hysterically.  I cannot get enough of her! I hold her hands and she stands on my lap with a big open-mouthed smile – so proud of herself.  My girls are just the joy of my life. I am so lucky.

The best part of the weekend was the surprise night my husband planned for my birthday.  We went to dinner and then to an amazing off-broadway show in the West Village in NYC.  The weather being what it was, the Village looked like it was painted technicolor.  We sat side by side through dinner, drinking wine, and talking close – if people were looking on, they might have thought we were on our first date – ok, maybe our seventh date – instead of an old married couple with children and a mortgage and responsibilities.  The show we saw was Our Town, ironically about appreciating life as you’re living it, and afterward we discussed at length how much we loved the production.  We walked hand-in-hand, energized by the breeze and fueled by memories of many, many similar, lovely evenings shared long before children and marriage came along.  It made me remember that we’ve got a lot of this – these warm, strolling nights in New York – left in us.  And it made me look forward to the coming months even more.  This spring feels like a rebirth in so many ways.  I can hardly wait to see what the near future holds.

What are you most looking forward to this spring and summer?

Painting by Linda Press

