Posted by AVM

We had an incredible week away.  The weather couldn’t have been more ideal, and barring the torture that is airport security with two young children, the week’s vacation was nearly perfect.  A great time that recharged our batteries. 

I’m starting to recognize that Lovey is really getting out of that toddler stage and into being a little person.  In the past few weeks, I have noticed that her thinking is getting more and more complex, and she is way more independent.  I have always thought it was amazing that one day your child doesn’t know how to do something and the next day she does.  I’ve seen it happen over and over again, and yet each time I am as astounded as I was the first time Lovey or CeeCee acquired a new skill.

Over vacation, it was swimming for Lovey.  Ok, I’m not talking the butterfly stroke – she still was wearing her swimmies.  However, she went from needing and wanting to be held in the pool (on day one of our trip) to “No, Mommy!  I need to do it all by myself!” (from day two of our trip on).  She didn’t want us holding her, helping her, nada.  She would get up and out of the pool over and over again jumping into the deep end fearlessly.  Her head would go way under as she jumped,  she’d pop back up and be all smiles and then kick and make her way back to the stairs  for a repeat performance.  Lovey is just about three-and-a-half.  While I swam near her the entire time, I just couldn’t believe this was happening.  Swimming by herself?  Already?

I don’t know where I got this fearless girl.  While Lovey and I share many similarities – our love of Disney movies and scores, our dislike for scratchy clothing, our fondness for napping on car rides – we are very different in many ways, and this is one of them.  I am cautious, overly so when it comes to new adventures.  Not Lovey.  It’s jump in with both feet and commit, and if you fail, well, you’ll deal with it.  It’s such a great quality to have, and I need to get out of her way (while swimming close to her – just in case), so that she can take on the world in her way.  It’s a beautiful thing to admire your daughter.  To wish you were more like her.  Especially when she’s three-and-a-half.

