Posted by AVM

This post has nothing to do with children or parenting. It’s all about me, myself, and I.  Feel free to tune out. On January 4th, I vowed to get healthier and lose weight.  As of tonight, Sunday, April 18, I have officially lost 32 pounds.  That is six pounds more than Lovey, my three-and-a-half-year-old, weighs.  If you count the baby weight I lost after I gave birth to CeeCee (which was really all water weight, swelling, and bloat), I am 69 pounds lighter today than I was at the end of August, 2009.  This paragraph so far sounds like I’m tooting my own horn, and in a sense, I am.  But I am hoping that anyone reading this might be inspired to jump start their goals – be it weight loss or otherwise – because if I can change, anyone can.  And I know everyone says that, but I really mean it.  You’ll just have to trust me on that.  I am simply following Weight Watchers, and I have really changed the way I think about food.  I’m not perfect, and I have my bad eating days (like today).  But I’m balancing the rest of my life out, and that’s where my progress is made.  The secret potion was there all the time, just like Dorothy’s slippers.  There is no magic, I just had to be ready.  And I was.  I am.  Here are some positive changes that have happened since my 32 pound weight loss:

  • I’m no longer winded taking stairs.  The three flights up to my office are cake.
  • My family is eating a healthy dinner together nearly every night.  Instead of fattening meals, they’re lean.  Less pasta, more chicken, and yes, we’re all surviving just fine.
  • I am fitting into clothes that I haven’t been able to wear in over two years.  This is a personal favorite – nothing feels better.
  • I have more energy, I’m much more happy to go to the playground with Lovey than I’ve been in the past.
  • I bought these shoes for myself as a little present for hitting the big 3-0.  They have Fitz’s stamp of approval, as I am not the fashion guru of the bunch.
  • I am still motivated to keep on to my goal, which, in January seemed insurmountable, and now, is on the distant horizon.  I am a third of the way there.  I can do this.

As it turns out, this post has everything to do with my children.  Thanks for listening, as always.

