Posted by AVM

Over the Fourth of July weekend, we had a great time at our family’s vacation home with my parents, my sister and her husband, and our little brood.  After fun and exhausting days of swimming, chasing our girls around, and wonderful meals, the “adults” would hang out together with a bottle (or two!) of wine after the girls went to bed.  One night, while our husbands looked on puzzled, my sister and I were in hysterics, laughing until we couldn’t catch our breath and tears streamed down our faces about some silly thing we used to do when we were young (and tormented each other).  The details are inconsequential – it was just part of the great and textured history she and I share as sisters.  Growing up, we drove each other crazy sometimes as siblings do, but we were always close because we were sisters, and frankly, my parents wouldn’t have it any other way.  You’re going somewhere? Take your sister.  You have something? Share it with your sister.  You and your sister are fighting?  Work it out girls, you’re family, and family sticks together.  While I found these tactics incredibly annoying sometimes (especially as the older sister), I am so grateful that my parents raised us that way.  It was only until I was older that I realized that not everyone had this innate feeling that family is absolute, and I felt incredibly sad at the revelation.  In our family, you can always go home.  You stick up for your sister, no matter what.  Again, it wasn’t always smooth sailing, but at the end of the day, my sister is my best friend.  I have every intention of raising my daughters the same way.

When I went to bed that night, I  giggled to myself thinking about how my sister and I can still make each other laugh like that.  And I smiled a huge smile thinking about how I hope my girls will do the same someday.  A lifetime of inside jokes and belly laughs together, I can’t wait to watch them grow.

I love you, C.

