Posted by Duff.

Happy 4th Birthday to my Dervish.

rainbow clipart

Thank you, sweet girl, for giving me a hard time, and forcing me to start writing again. You have no idea what you started, and one day, I’ll tell you. 

But for now, thank you for teaching me that I could love someone even before I could understand her, that both of us are capable of more than we ever imagined, that the biggest and most vibrant souls start out in the smallest of bodies.

You may say you don’t love me when I tell you no, or that I’m not your best friend when I won’t let you hurt yourself, but I know you love me, and I know I’m your best friend when you climb me like a coconut tree or beg me to snuggle during a thunderstorm even though you’re not afraid. And I love that you’re not afraid. But I would love you just as much if you were.

Cyndi Lauper’s words were never so beautiful as when sung by a little girl lulling herself to sleep after a long day of lambasting her mother:

I see your true colors shining through
I see your true colors and that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors are beautiful like a rainbow

THAT is a double complete rainbow. FULL ON.

